HOME > Division of Cyclotron Nuclear Medicine

Division of Cyclotron Nuclear Medicine



The Division of Cyclotron Nuclear Medicine was established in 1987 as a division of the Cyclotron and Radioisotope Center (CYRIC) at Tohoku University. Its primary aim is to promote medical research using positron emission tomography (PET). It is associated with Graduate School of Medicine at Tohoku University and accepts both domestic and foreign students/researchers. Currently, both master and doctoral courses are given, and a position for a post-doctoral fellow is also available. There are various research projects currently running in collaboration with several departments of Tohoku University Graduate School of Medicine as well as with departments of other faculties. In 2006, Tohoku University started the Molecular Imaging Project, including Training/Eduational Course, and CYRIC plays a fundamental role for the development of instrumentations and methodologies in it.


nuclear medicine, PET, molecular imaging, clinical study



Professor Manabu Tashiro

  • nuclear medicine, clinical pharmacology
  • Telephone/FAX:+81 022-795-7797


Assistant professor Kotaro Hiraoka

  • dementia, higher brain dysfunction, clinical study, neurology, nuclear medicine, PET
  • Telephone:+81 022-795-7802


Resarch Associate Shoichi Watanuki

  • nuclear medicine, PET
  • Telephone:+81 022-795-7802


  • Professor:Kazuhiko Yanai
  • Associate professorNobuyuki Okamura
  • Lecturer: Miho Shidahara
  • Technical Assistant:Kazuko Takeda
  • Postdoctoral fellow: Kana Ariga
  • Specially-approved Visiting Professor, and Professor Emeritus:Masatoshi Itoh
  • Visiting Professor, and Professor Emeritus: Hiroshi Fukuda
  • Visiting Professor: Kazuo Kubota
  • Visiting Professor:Keiichiro Yamaguchi
  • Research Fellow:Takeshi Ogura
  • Research Fellow:Tomoyuki Narashima
  • Research Fellow: Joe Morishita